Interview With Thomas Tibitanzl

24 Apr

Thomas Tibitanzl, better known as “deZane” is a 25 year old self-taught artist. His work have been published in different design magazines including Advanced Photoshop, artzMania and Blanket Magazine. His talent is evident in the richness of detail and balance of elements in his work. Read on and get to know more about the artist behind these incredible images.

 

Hello Thomas. First of all, thank you for letting us have this opportunity to interview you. Can you tell us more about yourself?

Hello world, my name is Thomas Tibitanzl, I am a digital artist, graphic designer and web designer from Munich. I work under the artist name “deZane”.

 

bloom_by_deZane


You’re a self-taught graphic designer/digital artist. Can you tell us about your learning process? How did you get to where you are now as an artist?

When I was a teenager, I was very interested in the internet particularly in beautiful websites that inspired me to create my own one day. Back then, Flash was a new innovative web-technology and only a small percentage of these websites were floating around the internet. For me, these websites were very appealing. It was the first time where you were able to show off a presentation, with interactive layouts, motion graphics, special effects, sound, music etc. I thought the whole package was incredible with all these possibilities and freedom. With this motivation I started to learn Flash 5 and Photoshop 5, to create my own unique presentation on the internet. After some years of experimentation, I created many personal websites to craft my skills, until I have reached the point where the practice paid off and I finally created the website that met my expectations, but I didn’t have any portfolio, just a fancy website without content.

The first part of my plan was done, so I started to persue my next goal. My other interest is art, expressed in any possible form. Since I was a kid I draw and painted a lot, attended art class in school etc. Through various websites and graphic communites, I was naturally introduced and inspired by graphic design and digital art. I thought that digital art was the optimal medium, to fit my needs and the best way to represent my ideas and visions. It offers so many possibilites and freedom, that there are really no limits. With the basics and knowledge of my website design skills, I started to get a little deeper into Photoshop, to expand my skills and create artworks for my website.

After some time my artworks got more complicated, so I needed to learn additional programs as well. Programs are like tools, the more you know, the more options you have…

VISIONS series good_by_deZane

Ghosts in the Shell_by_deZane


Did you always wanted to become an artist?

Well, I knew since high school that I wanted to become a designer professionally. I just create artworks as a hobby in my spare time as an artist, because I am very inclined and interested in the digital art field.

awakening_by_deZane

festivals of the dancing souls_by_deZane


Do you have any creative rituals to help you come up with a concept?

I wouldn’t call it a ritual, but first of all when I come up with new ideas and a concept, I clear my mind and stay focused. It’s just a basic technique, a mix between brainstorming and daydreaming. Most of the time I just sit in a quiet place and start to think. I am certain that you are the most creative, when you are relaxed, in harmony and not distracted by other things.

The_Mastermind_by_deZane

drowning_by_deZane


From start to end, how does an artwork come to life?

The whole concept and ideas are visually constructed in my head, it works like a virtual playground. For me it is personally the best method, because I have absolutely no restrictions and total freedom, also it is a good training and stimulates the brain for better imagination. When I come up with an interesting concept, that I think is original and unique in some way, I try to recreate it as accurate as possible with different programs.

I open Photoshop, set up my document settings/size and start a raw composition, putting in different elements. Depending on the concept I use Cinema 4D, Poser and Illustrator to create these fundamental elements, that I post process in Photoshop afterwards. I mix up these elements with photomanipulation and digital painting. When I think the composition seems right with my vision, I start to work on the transition and blending. Afterwards I am adding tons of details, until the balance feels right. In the last step I final tune every layer and clean the masking from dirt and leftovers.

The_Pact_by_deZane

Undiscovered Gems_by_deZane


Is there a particular experience that influences how you approach your craft? What was it?

Everytime I create a new artwork, it is a challenge and a lot of hard work. I always try my best to execute my visions and concepts as accurate as possible, this takes a lot of time. In general, I need 1-2 months to create one artwork, it takes sometimes even more, depends on how complex the composition will be. Sometimes at a certain point when I am stuck, I feel frustrated and really bad not to be able to complete the piece, I listen to my inner guide and know that someday I will finish it, no matter how complex it is. Patience and discipline is the key. To realize when the artwork is done, that the concept and result fulfilled my expectations, I feel relieved with joy, restoring the confidence I have lost…

United_by_deZane

breaking the boundaries_by_deZane


Color, line, shape, texture. Which is most important to you when creating your designs?

Well it depends on the concept and composition, sometimes I use an aspect more than the other to highlight certain things, to make it more interesting or to create a unique atmosphere. But in general, all of those aspects are important, it needs to have the right balance. It’s the same with cooking, you have all kinds of recipes and the ingredients must be adjusted properly. For example, if you use to much salt or pepper you have ruined your meal and you can throw it in the dump…

connected_by_deZane

Creativity_in_your_Hand_by_deZane


Do you have a particular trademark that you keep in your designs?

Every artwork is intended to be thought-provoking, it is build upon a theme that is interpreted with my vision/concept, it contains a story and sometimes an important message. To make it even more interesting, I assist the concept with an appropriate atmosphere, symbolism, an exciting perspective, interesting colors and my own artistic touch.

If you want to know the meaning behind each piece, you need to put the puzzle together and you will understand it. In the end it doesn’t even matter if you have the right interpretation or not, my intention is to encourage the viewer to think for himself again, because it seems that many people in our society are too distracted, they have lost their sense and can not distinguish between important things that have a true value. I think that art is an excellent communicator to express this philosophy. I try my best to accomplish it through my artworks. I am also more than happy, if I can share these visions and inspire other people around the world.

My_Own_World_by_deZane


Can you give any word of advice to our readers?

I think there really is no secret, if you want to become good at certain things. It’s all about how you approach your goals, the most important thing is, that you need to have the right mindset, confidence, a strong will and the right discipline ( patience and practice always pays off in the end ). Try to think outside the box, be more open-minded and listen to your heart and you will have the best guide.

Heartbroken_by_deZane

Imagination_by_deZane

Delicious_by_deZane

metamorphosis_by_deZane

Monolithic_Dreams_by_deZane

overload_by_deZane

Regeneration_by_deZane

the end of the beginning_by_deZane

the fall_by_deZane

The_Final_Step_by_deZane

Two_Faces_by_deZane

Leave a Reply

