15 Insanely Elaborate Typographic Works by Marcelo Schultz

23 Apr

Hi Marcelo! We’d like to know more about you. First off, can you tell us something about yourself?

I am 31 years old and I was born in Curitiba, Brazil. I draw since childhood, always liked pencils and markers. I am very inspired by the colors.

Shadowness_schultzdzn

 

Born_to_shine_schultzdzn


Was graphic design/illustration a childhood dream? How did you train for it?

Yes, since childhood I knew I would work with something related to it. I train doing some doodles during the day, I always have one pencil, paper and an eraser with me.

skullofrock_01_schultzdzn

cats_schultzdzn


What is a typical day like for you?

I work full time at my Design Office (www.ddq.com.br) working as Art Director. There I do not make illustrations like as you can see on my website. We work just doing corporate design, like brochure, folders, flyers, logotypes, menus. I just make my illustrations when I’m at home, at night.

ddqdesign_schultzdzn


What is your design philosophy?

I have in mind that, you cannot grow without training. If you want something, you need to do anything you can, to learn.

coffee_lovers_02_schultzdzn


What is your current inspiration?

Some friends of mine, they do amazing works. I’m always feeding my mind, searching websites with amazing works.

do_it_Yourself_schultzdzn


I must say you have an amazing array of poster and typography work, with “Let’s Rock Around the World” as my personal favorite. How do you develop this type of work?

Usually, I doodle something when I’m in the office, the inspiration comes through music or any quote that I remember..

HoldOn_schultzdzn[4]


Can you tell us about “Lost Empire”? What was the design process for this work from start to finish?

This was created because one day I remembered that when I was a chilld I always enjoyned my art class, I was like my Art teacher. She always showed slides of Rome, Greece and others.

3739caf10b75a69b6dbdfeef769cc74f


What do you love the most about your work?

Doing the sketches.

Lets_rock_02_schultzdzn

Lets_rock_schultzdzn


Do you have new projects you’re currently working on?

Yes, I’m working on some projects for clients in the USA. And also, doing tutorial where I teach how to do a basic 3D lettering.

lovehatesexpain_01_schultzdzn

Save_the_nature_01_schultzdzn


Any message for our readers?

Never say you do not know how to do something, it doesn’t exist. You need just training.

Nike-Justdoit_01_schultzdzn

Nike-Justdoit_02_schultzdzn


Leave a Reply

